White Blossom Season

Vita Sackville-West’s Sissinghurst has nothing on Thornbush for a white garden, at least in May.

View from my bedroom window

Check out the crabapple blossoms, with sweet woodruff and snow in summer below. The cherry blossoms are almost gone but the service berry is coming on strong. You may even see the lawn daisies popping up everywhere. Since this picture was taken, the highly invasive English Hawthorn has inserted itself as well.

Certainly there are lots of other colors this month and I saw plenty of wildflowers in various hues. But they start off with fawn lilies and trillium. Oh, and then there’s Star Magnolias. Who doesn’t love the white blossoms of May?

Trillium at Bloedel

Other goings on: After the carpet was installed in March, we had the rooms painted in April. but that wasn’t the last of the redecorating. the office got a redo with the installation of filing cabinets in the crawl space. And we each got new desks! Still dealing with all the stuff that doesn’t have a proper place yet.

I’ve also started contributing again (see summer 2020) to the Sculpture Garden at Roche in what we are calling the “Whimsy Woods”. My emphasis will be on use of willow and other natural materials.

Oh, and, yeah, I turned 70 this month. Sigh. One friend gave me a card with this great quote from Leonard Cohen, “You know, 70 is indisputably not youth. I don’t say its extreme old age but it is the foothills of old age.” Guess we could have had a party but I didn’t have the enthusiasm or energy to set one up. Luckily, I have friends willing to celebrate with me individually. And Roger took me to a very nice restaurant at Roche Harbor.

Got fanciful with olive green trim in the “new” office
Willow balls decorate this tree in the whimsy woods
Roche Harbor, May 13, 2023
MM frolicking in the shooting stars on Cady Mountain.

Yes, White Blossom May is a fabulous time of year. But I’m looking forward to a very rosey June.

3 thoughts on “White Blossom Season

  1. I would probably say I’m in the foothills of old age too. Great MM frolicking photo! I have been going through old photos preparing to make a Grandpa Bill album for Matthew et al., starting with old Bill & Matthew photos. So I’m very conscious of the passage of time right now.

    Jeannette

    360-701-1196

  2. I am now moving toward 80. Might be part of the way up the mountain. Glad your birthday was good. 💞🥳🍾

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.